The National Crest

In late 1970, Mr Holman, then in charge of the Art Section at the Dept of Information and Extension Services (DIES), Port Moresby, was urgently requested by officials of the House of Assembly to prepare a series of designs for both a National Crest and National Flag for consideration by the Select Committee on Constitutional Development. As the Committee were at that time travelling around Papua New Guinea in order to discuss and receive submissions on the future Constitution from the local populace, Mr Holman with his Assistant Esau Reuben, flew to Lae to attend one of the Committee's sessions to present a portfolio of design concepts.

The team's initial designs were rejected by the Committee but because of the urgency of the matter, the Committee requested that a further presentation be made the following day with the team taking into account comments made by the Committee. Working through the night, what was to become Papua New Guinea's National Crest was drafted. This was accepted by the Committee and a copy of the original art-proof is shown below.


The Second House of Assembly
Select Committee on Constitutional Development

(Some of the members and staff of the Committee)

Matiabe Yuwi, Ross Johnson (Deputy EO), Wally Lussick, Mat Toliman,
John Middleton, Alan Kerr (Exec. Off.), Sinake Giregire, Donatus Mola, Tai Abal
Geoff Littler (Dep. Chair.), Paulus Arek (Chairman), Tom Leahy