TERRITORY OF PAPUA AND NEW GUINEA

File: 2-1-0

Department of Notice Afform

Fil DNA Cire

Department of Native Affairs,

KONEDOBU. PAPUA.

9th September, 1964.

TO: ALL DISTRICT COMMISSIONERS,
DISTRICT OFFICERS,
OFFICERS IN CHARGE OF SUBDISTRICT OFFICES AND PATROL
POSTS.

ESTABLISHMENT OF GOVERNMENT STATIONS, NEW GUINEA:

Attached is a list showing the date of establishment of stations in New Guinea. This has been compiled in this Headquarters from sources available in Port Moresby and has been added to and amended in accordance with information received from the Commonwealth Archives Office in Canberra.

2. Should there be any information or records available at your station which would add to or amend the information shown, I would be very pleased to receive details or documents from you.

Att.

(J.K. McCarthy) DIRECTOR.

NOTES ON ESTABLISHMENT OF GOVERNMENT STATIONS

NEW GUINEA

1884	Flag raised.
1885	New Guinea Co. given sovereign rights. First Administrator arrived Finschhafen. Stations established at Hatzfeldthafen and Madang and Sub-Station at Butaueng. First settlement on Tschirimoi Is. but soon moved to mainland.
1886	Konstantinhafen established. End of 1886 station erected at Matupi, moved later to Kerewara.
1888	August - Plantation stations established at Stephan- sort (Bogadjim) and Kelana (West of Cape Konig Wil- helm).
1890	Herbertshohe established early in 1890 as main station in Bismarck Archipelago.
1891	In middle of March, the business and administrative centre moved to Stephansort leaving Finschhafen as a station and Butaueng as a Sub-Station.
1892	June - Astrolabe Company took over Erima and Stephan sort stations possibly also a station at Yomba.
1893	5th January - Colony divided into Eastern and Western Court Districts, Western District at Friedrichshafen and Eastern at Herbertshohe. Astrolabe Company had its H.Q. at Stephansort. Herbertshohe station divided into 2 parts - 30 buildings at Kokopo, 21 at Vunatali.
1895	Headquarters moved to Madang.
1898	Temporary camp established about 110 miles up the Ramu, known as "Goldfields Station". Later in the year a base station was established on the lower part of the river. These were not withdrawn until 1902 or 1903.
1899	German Government took over from New Guinea Co. and transferred capital to Herbertshohe (Kokopo).
1900	District of Nusa (Neu Mecklenburg) and station at Kavieng established.
1901	Re-establishment of Finschhafen Station. Salamaua established as base for Huon Gulf Expedition.
1903	Establishment of Police Post at Toma. Ramu expedition abandoned its station on the Upper Ramu.
1904	Huon Gulf Expedition abandoned. Probably left Salamaua. Namatanai Station established.
1905	Kieta Station established.
1906	Eitape Station established near Berlinhafen.

1907	Bulu station on Astrolabe Bay established as base for a Caoutchaouc and Gutta Percha Expedition.
1908	Reference to Namanula Station District.
1909	July - Police post established Morobe. August - District Office transferred from Herbertshohe to Rabaul.
1910	January - Central Government and Supreme Court transferred to Rabaul. March - Customs Agency established at Buin. April - Kaewieng raised to District Office status. Police Post at Morobe raised to Station.
1911	Manus Station established.
1913	Postal Agency established on Maron. September - Government station opened at Angoram.
1914	Burgberg (Lae) which had been a German station lapsed during the Military Administration.
1915	Angoram abandoned.
1917	Gasmata district proclaimed but very little done until 1919.
1918	Angrisshafen (Vanimo) established as Government Station. It had been a trading station for the New Guinea Co. In September Talasea station established.
1919	Talasea district constituted. Gasmata station established (transferred from Ablinghi which was set up by Pethebridge). Lae re-established.
1919-20	Wewak established.
1921	Buka Passage and Buin stations established.
1922-23	Marienberg established.
1923-24	Ambunti Station established.
1924-25	Change of site Buin station. Patrol Officer stationed west side of Gazelle Peninsula to patrol Bainings area. New district proclaimed, Headquarters at Ambunti (previously headquarters of sub-district was at Marienberg).
1926	Edie Creek goldfield discovered. Wau became gold-fields town.
	Salamaua had been established before this and became port for the Goldfields. Districts of Rabaul, Talasea and Gasmata amalgamated with headquarters Kokopo. (Sub-Stations Rabaul, Talasea and Gasmata).
1928-29	Kavieng and Namatanai Districts amalgamated.
1930-31	A.D.O. stationed goldfields area (Wau). Station was moved from Marienberg to Angoram in the early thirties

1932 Kainantu established November.

1933-34 Permanent base camp established at Otibanda and advance post at Finintegu.

1934-35 Base Camps established at junction of Chimbu and Wahgi Rivers (now Kundiawa) and Goromei (Middle of Chimbu Valley).

Base camp re-opened at Bena Bena.

1936 New post at Tungu on Lower Watut in May.

1937 Lae became Sub-District Office. Wakunai Patrol Post established.

1937-38 Maprik Station established.

Stations established at Gormis (Mt. Hagen) and Mai Mai (45 miles from Aitape). Base Camp at Yapunda (Sepik).

Bogia established (may have been moved from another site. Base camp in area 1932-33).

The transfer of New Guinea Headquarters from Rabaul to Lae was commencing at the time of the occupation of Rabaul by the Japanese.

Goroka (replacing Bena Bena), Minj (base camp only until 1948-49), Wabag (taken over from the Army), Kaiapit, Finschhafen (re-established), Mumeng, established.

1946 Lumi.

1946-47 Pomio (Base Camp 1933-34).

1947 Yangoru.

1947-48 Dreikikir.

1948 Telefomin.

1949 Henganofi, Wantoat.

1949-50 Wapenamanda.

1950 Kandrian (replacing Gasmata).

Green River, Menyamya (base camp 1933, later abandoned), Baluan.

1950-51 Vunadadir Patrol Post.

1952 Laiagam (July), Aiome.

1953 Chuave, Kompiam.

1954 Boku, Kunua.

1955 Lufa, Watabung, Okapa (replacing Kumiava), Kerowagi.

1956-57 Bundi, Karkar, May River, Gumine.

1957 Tabibuga, Tambul. 1957-58 Nuku, Cape Hoskins. Kalolo (replacing Wasu), Pindiu, Cape Gloucester. 1958 1959 Gembogl. 1959-60 Kandep, Amanab (sub-district from mid 1962). 1960 Karimui, Wonenara, Simbai, Hutjena. Porgera, Tinputz. 1960-61 Oksapmin, Finschhafen Training Centre, Kabwum. 1961 Lake Kopiago, Amboin, Aseki. 1961-62 Imonda, Hanahan, Lemankoa. 1962 Taskul (re-opened after about 9 or 10 years; had been open mid 1940's to mid 1950's). 1963

Subeli (Wuvulu), Kup, Obura, Pagwi, Wutung, Pagei.